The National Junior College Athletic Association announced today that Seward County Community College freshman volleyball player Dan Yang has been named a Second Team NJCAA All-American. Yang, a 6-foot-2-inch outside hitter from Beijing, China, is the first Lady Saint to be named an All-American since Luana Cavalcanti was awarded First Team honors in 2004. A total of 12 first team, 12 second team and six honorable mention selections were announced today by the NJCAA. Yang becomes the 10th Seward County player, and 11th NJCAA All-American selection in the SCCC program since 1996. Other Region VI selections to the NJCAA All-America team include, Ludmila Amaral (Hutchinson C.C.) and Alik Cardosa de Sa (Barton County C.C.) who earned First Team and Honorable Mention, respectively.

In 2007, Yang had statistically the most impressive season in the history of the Seward County volleyball program. She broke three Seward County all-time records and she now ranks in seven career and single-season top 10 record books. Yang finished the season ranked second in the NJCAA in total kills (860) and kills per game (5.9).

Yang was named the Jayhawk West Conference Most Valuable Player and Freshman of the Year, becoming the only player in SCCC history to earn both honors during a career. The dominating outside hitter also received First Team NJCAA D-I All-Region VI and First Team Jayhawk West All-Conference. On two occasions Yang received Region VI Player of the Week, once she was named the NJCAA Player of the Week, and she was named to four All-Tournament teams, including receiving the Tournament Most Valuable Player at the Midland College Tournament.

She led the Lady Saints to their most victories since 2002 (30), while playing in 147 games, collecting a .356 hitting percentage, 212 digs, 77 service aces, and 73 blocks to go with her single-season record 860 kills and 5.9 kills per game.

Seward County Volleyball All-American Selections:
Dan Yang (2007), Luana Cavalcanti (2004), Kaera Baltrip (2003), Joy Okpa (2002), Ashyn Carter (2001), Joy Okpa (2001), Carol Bozikis (2000), Gabi Carbone (1999), Angie McLeod (1999), Brenda Dantas (1997) and Kechia Mason (1996).