One-hundred-seventy students representing nine high schools competed for prizes during Seward County Community College1s first-ever Extreme Challenge recently, which gave students the opportunity to see what programs are available on campus. Students competed in the areas of agriculture, accounting, administrative professionals, computer information systems, criminal justice, cosmetology, journalism and marketing management. Students from Elkhart, Rolla, Walsh, Colo., Boise City, Okla., Forgan, Okla., Satanta, Moscow, Turpin, Okla., and Liberal participated.

Jessica King of Rolla received an iPod Nano donated by First National Bank when her ticket was drawn from among the 68 students who chose to go on a campus tour while at SCCC.

The top overall winners in the Extreme Challenge were required to participate in more than one category. Kyla Clawson of Satanta was first-place overall winner and won a laptop computer and $300 SCCC scholarship; Shawn Cogburn, Walsh, Colo., was second and won a video Ipod and $300 SCCC scholarship; and Angela Schaeffer, Liberal, was third and won a portable DVD player.

Overall agriculture winners were Mandy Rollins of Satanta, first; Clawson, second; and Alissa Imler of Satanta, third. In agriculture1s agronomy contest, Rollins won first; Joel Kiehne, Satanta, second; and Imler, third.

In agricultural business, Clawson took first, Rollins, second; and Jason Becker of Turpin, third. Animal science contest winners were Clawson, first; Cogburn, second; and Cody Colantonio of Satanta, third.

Overall accounting winners were Ashley Myers, Elkhart, first; Kyla Clawson, second; and Chelsi Valdez, Moscow, third.

Overall Administrative professionals winners, which reflected compiled scores from keyboarding and document processing and business math application, were Nick Spain, Liberal, first; Megan Carr, Liberal, second; and Stephanie Piper, Liberal, third.

In the Computer Information Systems category, overall winners were Christopher Hull of Rolla, first; Jonathan Faulkner, Boise City, second; and Tyler Parks, Elkhart, third.

Criminal justice winners were Sara Morris of Forgan, first overall; Joe Bach of Liberal, second; and Daniel Unruh, Forgan, third. In the shooting category, Morris was first; Carrie Jo Davidson, Elkhart, second; and Tyler Koonce, Elkhart, third. In the 3Who Did It2 contest, the Liberal team of Caitlyn Laughlin, Bach, Andrea Hart, Komal Bhatka and James McElvania won first; the Satanta team of Orlando Padilla, Ben Fuentes, Esmeralda Valdez, Joanna Montoya and Nikki Salazar was second; and the Forgan team of Liz Livingston, Iris Jaquez, Krista Spurgeon, Sara Morris and Daniel Unruh was third.

In Cosmetology overall prizes were given to Lelie Rosas, Boise City, first; Dana Walker, Boise City, second; and Joanna Montoya, Satanta, third. In the nail art competition, Tori Wielett of Boise City won first; Nikki Salazar of Satanta, second; and Joanna Montoya, Satanta, third.

In Journalism, three Rolla students claimed the overall journalism awards.

Katy Hall, was first; Jessica King, second; and Valeria Pando, third. In the news writing category, Andrea Hart of Liberal earned first ; Pando, second; and Laughlin, third. For sports writing, Hall won first, King, second, and Chelsi Valdez, third. Associated Press/grammar/spelling winners were Hall, first; Bach, second; and Stephanie Rowe of Liberal, third.

In the Marketing/Management competition, Daniel Garcia of Satanta won first place overall; Cogburn, second; and Stacy Saythany of Liberal, third.