The Seward County Community College volleyball team notched their sixth Jayhawk West Conference victory of the season on Wednesday night with a 30-14, 30-14, 30-22 victory over sixth-place Pratt Community College on sophomore recognition night at the Green House in Liberal. Sophomore Alex Droogsma, Katy Troutman, Jazmin Hernandez and Heather Zerr were recognized prior to the Lady Saints’ three game victory. The win also marked two major accomplishments - the most victories for the SCCC volleyball program since the 2004 season, and the most wins in a season for third year head coach Bert Luallen. The No. 15 nationally-ranked Lady Saints improve to 25-7 overall and to 6-1 in the Jayhawk West Conference. Pratt falls to 9-15 overall and to 2-4 in league competition.

The first game was all Seward County as they jumped out to a 21-9 lead. Freshmen Jelena Simic and Dan Yang combined for six of the final eight points in Seward County’s 30-14 game-one win.

The Lady Saints continued to dominate the match starting the second game with a 9-1 lead. Yang collected three early kills as Seward County took the early lead. Yang then took control from the service line where she added three straight aces to give Seward County a 14-4 advantage. The Lady Saints’ largest lead grew to 17 points in their second victory of the match 30-14.

Pratt came alive in the third game taking their first lead of the match 7-6. The Lady Beavers final lead came at 10-11, as Simic toed the service line and rallied Seward County to four straight points, taking a 14-11 lead. The Lady Saints would never trail again and would eventually finish the match 30-22.

This weekend the Lady Saints will host the SCCC Invitational, welcoming seven volleyball programs that are yearly contenders for the NJCAA National Championship. Competition will start on Friday, Oct. 12 with matches starting at 8 a.m. at the Green House. Eight matches will be played on each day with two pool-play brackets. Teams in this year’s SCCC Invitational are No. 1 Western Nebraska, No. 7 Frank Phillips College, No. 9 Barton County Community College, No. 14 Hutchinson Community College, No. 15 Seward County Community College, No. 17 Northeastern Colorado Junior College, Arizona Western College (receiving national votes) and Midland College (receiving national votes).

The Lady Saints will play on Friday at 12:30 p.m. against Northeastern Colorado and in the final match on Friday at 6:30 p.m. against Arizona Western College. Seward County will finish pool-play on Saturday at 12:30 p.m. against Midland College and will then be seeded into championship competition.