Seward County Community College women’s basketball head coach Toby Wynn has been named the Kansas Basketball Coaches Association JUCO Women’s Coach of the Year. In 2006-07, Wynn led the Lady Saints to a 36-2 overall record and to the NJCAA National Tournament where they finished in third-place, posting the second best season ever in Seward County women’s basketball history. Wynn will receive the KBCA Coach of the Year award as part of the KBCA All-Star Game Festivities in Topeka, Kan., at Washburn University.

The KBCA selects a Coach of the Year for four-year colleges, two-year colleges, high school and junior high male and female sports. KBCA officers, staff and representatives present their selections for the awards and winners are presented after a vote is completed. All head coaches in the state of Kansas are eligible for the award and only one head coach is selected as their respective levels Coach of the Year.

Wynn completed his second season as head coach of the Lady Saints with a roster that had only seven healthy players for the final 18 games of the season. His squad finished with a 15-1 Jayhawk West Conference record, winning the programs 10th conference title since 1994, and capturing the NJCAA Region 6 Tournament championship. Seward County capped off their season with a 58-48 victory over No. 1 ranked Southeastern Illinois in the third-place game at the National Tournament in Salina.

Wynn has a career record of 61-9 (.871) while leading the Lady Saints to 18 weeks with a Top 25 national ranking, including 15 weeks ranked inside the Top 10 in the country.

In addition, Wynn was named the Jayhawk West Conference Coach of the Year and his team and players received a total of 22 awards this season.

KBCA JUCO Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year Award Winners:
2007: Toby Wynn (Seward County)
2006: Tom Stephens (Colby)
2005: Jim Littell (Seward County)
2004: Jim Turgeon (Dodge City)
2003: Bobby Brasel (Garden City)
2002: Jim Littell (Seward County)
2001: Brett Erkenbrack (Cloud County)
2000: Debbie Carrier (Johnson County)
1999: Jim Littell (Seward County)
1998: Craig Bookover (Coffeyville)
1997: Leslie Crane (Kansas City, KS)
1996: Jeff Tadtman (Independence)
1995: Jeff Tadtman (Independence)