Seward County Community College Athletic Director Galen McSpadden has announced the Honor Roll for the Spring 2007 academic semester. A total of 105 student-athletes, cheerleaders and athletic trainers averaged 16.37 hours passed with an average grade point average of 3.30 for the semester. A total of 65 student-athletes made the honor roll with 12 receiving a perfect 4.0 GPA for the semester.

Eight SCCC athletic teams/groups recorded over a 3.0 team GPA, with the student trainers receiving the highest GPA at 3.62, averaging 14.50 hours passed with all four students being named to the honor roll and two students having a perfect 4.0 GPA. The women’s tennis team recorded the highest team GPA at 3.57, averaging 14.80 hours passed with all five student-athletes making the honor roll and one student receiving a 4.0 GPA.

In addition, Curtis Hamilton (Baseball) and Katelyn Deckert (Cheerleading) are the winners of the 2006-2007 W.A. Shufelberger Award. The W.A. Shufelberger academic award is presented yearly to the graduating male and female student-athlete with the highest accumulative grade point average.

See the following attachment for a complete review of all SCCC athletic teams/groups and the success of the Saints student-athletes in the classroom this past semester.

2006-2007: Curtis Hamilton (Baseball), Katelyn Deckert (Cheerleading)
2005-2006: Brian Majors (Baseball), Kalie Radcliff (W. Basketball)
2004-2005: David Andersen (Baseball), Tai Houtz (W. Basketball)
2003-2004: Austin Heaton (Baseball), Jennifer Morse (Softball)
2002-2003: Ryan Nelson (Baseball), Isabel Duarte (Volleyball)
2001-2002: Blake Henley (M. Tennis), Anne Weese (W. Basketball) & Tracy Wynn (W. Basketball)
2000-2001: Robby Deevers (Baseball), Andrea Legleiter (Volleyball)
1999-2000: John Smart Jr. (M. Basketball), Scarlette Frydendall (Cheerleading)
1998-1999: Jason Soto (M. Tennis), Hilarie Raleigh (W. Basketball)
1997-1998: Darin Winchester (Baseball), Kimber Jantz (Cheerleading)