Seward County Community College sophomores Erik Hegstad and Tanner Rindels have been named Division I National Junior College Athletic Association Baseball All-Americans. The NJCAA announced their All-American teams on Wednesday with six players from the Region 6 receiving prestigious recognition. Hegstad was named a Second Team outfielder and Rindels was named an Honorable Mention infielder. A total of 36 players earned First, Second and Third team recognition and 18 players were named Honorable Mention. There are currently 189 NJCAA Division I baseball teams in the nation.

The Saints baseball program has now had 16 All-Americans, including 15 selections during the last 15 years under head coach Galen McSpadden.

Region 6 representatives on the All-American teams were Michael Dabbs, Cowley College (First Team); Hegstad, Seward County (Second Team); Zack Murry, Neosho County (Third Team); Jason Chatwood, Colby (Third Team); Lance Hoge, Cowley College (Honorable Mention); and Rindels, Seward County (Honorable Mention).

Hegstad, a right fielder from Greeley, Colo., will return to his hometown next year to play at the University of Northern Colorado. The Jayhawk West Conference Most Valuable Player batted .349 with 12 home runs and 49 RBI this season. Hegstad was a two-time All-Conference selection and a First Team All-Region 6 selection this season. He belted 35 career doubles ranking him tied for 10th place all-time in Region 6 history and placing him in sixth-place all-time in Saints history.

Rindels, a first baseman from Hugoton, is headed to Texas Tech University for his junior season in 2007-08. Rindels led the Saints in nine offensive categories this season including batting average (.391), runs scored (56), base hits (72), doubles (18), triples (6), slugging percentage (.766), on base-plus slugging percentage (1.236), extra-base hits (37) and tied for the team lead in home runs (13).

Rindels was a unanimous First Team All-Conference selection and was a First Team All-Region 6 pick. He was awarded a NJCAA Region 6 Gold Glove Award (first base) and he was named the NJCAA National Player of the Week on April 25.

Rindels and Hegstad join the list of Seward County All-Americans that includes Ryan Nelson, First Team (2003); Josh McSpadden, Third Team (2003); Danny Vais, Honorable Mention (2003); Cory Patton, First Team/NJCAA Player of the Year (2002); Dan Dody, Honorable Mention (2002); Jesus Morillo, Second Team (2000); Mike Done, Third Team (1998); Chaz Eiguren, First Team (1997); Jesse Cornejo, Honorable Mention (1997); Sean Eylar, First Team (1996); Scott Sandusky, Honorable Mention (1995); Tyler Bain, Second Team (1993); Tim Forkner, First Team (1993); Matt Yeager, Second Team (1975).