Seward County Community College sophomore menís basketball players Theron Wilson and Michael Tyree were named Jayhawk West All-Conference on Monday afternoon by Kansas Jayhawk Community College Conference officials. The Jayhawk West & East menís basketball All-Conference teams were announced and Wilson was named Second Team All-Conference and Tyree was named Honorable Mention All-Conference. Barton County C.C. head coach Craig Fletchall was named Conference Coach of the Year, Garden City C.C. sophomore Julian Allen was named Conference Most Valuable Player and Cloud County C.C. freshman Ricky Jackson was named Conference Freshman of the Year.

Wilson was among five sophomore players in the conference who were tabbed Second Team All Jayhawk West. For the majority of the season Wilson led the Region VI in scoring and rebounding. Through 28 games of action, Wilson is averaging 19.7 points and 10.8 rebounds per game, both stats rank Wilson second in the Region VI and 12th and 14th respectively in the NJCAA. The 6-foot-5-inch forward from Topeka, has led the Saints with 17 double-doubles this season, including a stretch of seven in a row during Jayhawk West competition. Wilson is also currently third in the nation in free throws.

Tyree has been the top outside shooter throughout the entire season among junior college players in the state of Kansas. Tyree is leading the Region VI and is sixth in the nation with 96 three-point field goals made. He is only two 3-pointers away from breaking the Seward County all-time record for three-point buckets made in a single-season. Tyree is averaging 17.9 points, 2.8 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 1.9 steals per game this season. The 5-foot-11-inch guard from Somerset, N.J., is shooting 39 percent (96-for-244) from long range this season.

There were 20 players selected to the First, Second and Honorable Mention teams with 19 sophomores leading the list. Ricky Jackson (Cloud County) was the only freshman tabbed All Jayhawk West and Nate Brumfield (Hutchinson), Charlie Coley (Dodge City), Cassin Diggs and Ivan Evans (Barton County) were the only players to receive All-Conference for the second consecutive year. In addition, it is the second straight season a sophomore from Garden City has been named Conference M.V.P. (Roy Bright in 2005-06).

First Team: Julian Allen, so., Garden City; Omar Johnson, so., Barton County; Kevin Goffney, so., Pratt; Nate Brumfield, so., Hutchinson; Ricky Jackson, fr., Cloud County.
Second Team: Yima Chia-Kur, so., Garden City; Theron Wilson, so., Seward County; Julius Perkins, so., Dodge City; Wade Knapp, so., Dodge City; Thiago Cordeiro, so., Barton County.
Honorable Mention: Jorge Canedo, so., Colby; Michael Tyree, so., Seward County; Cassin Diggs, so., Cloud County; Charlie Coley, so., Dodge City; Ivan Evans, so., Barton County