The Seward County Community College women’s basketball team clinched the 2007 Jayhawk West Conference regular season championship with a 78-42 victory over Garden City Community College on Sunday afternoon at the Perryman Center in Garden City. The Lady Saints won their 10th conference championship since 1994, and the first under second year head coach Toby Wynn. Seward County had five players score in double-figures and held Garden City to 33 percent shooting from the field in the road victory. Seward County will also receive the No. 1 seed from the Jayhawk West Conference, which will be the top seed in the NJCAA D-I Region VI Tournament.

Seward County improves to 27-1 overall and to 13-1 in the Jayhawk West Conference. Garden City falls to 1-25 overall and to 0-14 in the Jayhawk West play.

Early in the first-half Garden City led 10-6 after the opening six minutes of action. Seward County then grabbed the lead for good going on a 23-0 run over the next nine minutes, taking a 29-10 lead with five minutes left in the first-half.

The Lady Saints were had a balanced scoring attack led by freshman Tegan Cunningham and Taushelle Rushing who scored 15 points each. Freshman guard Audra Binford scored 14 points off the bench, sophomore Chelsea Blackshear recorded 13 points and freshman Jennifer Noel tallied 10 points for the Lady Saints.

Every Seward County player scored at least two points and played in at least 23 minutes of action. Cunningham posted her 13 double-double of the season with 11 rebounds to go with 15 points. Rushing had seven steals improving her steals total to 151 for the season. Rushing now trails current assistant coach Kim Ortega-Davis by 31 steals for the all-time single-season record. Ortega-Davis recorded 182 steals in her sophomore season in 2001-02.

Seward County played solid, shooting 10-of-27 from three-point range and forcing 22 Garden City turnovers.

The Lady Saints will play their final two regular season games at the Green House starting on Wednesday, Feb. 28, hosting Pratt C.C. for a 6 p.m. conference tip-off.