Kansas will salute 45 community college scholars for their academic accomplishments February 15 in Topeka during the Twelfth Annual Phi Theta Kappa Honors Luncheon. Among those being recognized are Seward County Community College students Katelyn Deckert of Liberal and Angela Weinheimer of Deerfield. Those in attendance will hear from Noah Brown, president of the Association of Community College Trustees.
Representing 39 towns and cities, the state's 19 community colleges, and a private two-year college, these scholars have been named to the 2006-07 All-Kansas Academic Team, sponsored by the international headquarters of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees, and the Kansas Council of Community College Presidents.
Each scholar was selected by his or her own community college for the annual statewide academic team, and each scholar also is a nominee for the 2006-07 All-USA Academic Team, sponsored by the newspaper USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges.
“Katelyn and Angela have strived for academic excellence, said Dr. Duane Dunn, SCCC president. “However, they also excel through service to the community, through service to the campus organizations and through their strong leadership qualities. We need to recognize academic excellence and this program is one way for the 19 Kansas community colleges to celebrate the achievements of the state's outstanding students.”
Deckert, a graduate of Liberal High School, has maintained a 4.0 grade point average while at SCCC. She is the president of Phi Theta Kappa, an SCCC Presidential Scholar, a member of the President’s Honor Roll, a cheerleader, campus tour guide, a Microbiology lab technician and a Welcome Day crew member. She has assisted with the SCCC Development Foundation Scholarship Auction and participated in Phi Theta Kappa Community Service Projects. She plans to transfer to the University of Kansas in the fall to major in Biochemistry and later obtain a doctorate in Pharmacology. Her long-term plans include pursuing a career in medical research with emphasis in creating medications.
Weinheimer, who has maintained a 3.89 GPA, is the recipient of the National Collegiate Nursing Award, a member of Phi Theta Kappa, president of Student Nurses Association, Peer Mentor for the Student Support Services Trio Program, an ambassador for SCCC Allied Health Division, an SCCC student representative for Nursing Program Advisory Board, and a volunteer for Big Brothers and Big Sisters Program of Finney County. She plans to transfer to the University of Kansas in the fall to obtain a bachelor’s of science in Nursing.
Each student will receive a proclamation issued by Gov. Kathleen Sebelius, an educational scholarship of $300, and an academic medallion. The Kansas Board of Regents universities and Washburn University have provided scholarships in the amount of $1,000 for the All-Kansas Team recipients who transfer to their institutions.
Since 1991, Phi Theta Kappa, USA Today, and the American Association of Community Colleges have sponsored the national All-USA Academic Team Program. The Kansas program is an affiliate, and the Kansas students are all nominees for the national honor.
This year, more than 1,600 students nationwide will compete for places on the first, second and third All-USA teams. First team members each receive a $2,500 stipend, and will be featured along with second and third team members in USA Today. Team members are also presented with medallions. Names of the students will be placed on the society's Web site, www.ptk.org .
Phi Theta Kappa is the honor society for students attending community and two-year colleges. Membership is based on high grade point averages and other criteria, with members focusing on scholastic achievement and service to community and campus. The 45 individuals are part of a statewide student body of more than 72,000 people enrolled in more than 615,000 credit hours taken annually at the 19 Kansas community colleges.