The Seward County Community College men's basketball team will compete this weekend at the Jayhawk Shootout in Coffeyville, Kan. The Saints will play on Friday, Dec. 1 against the host school, No. 12 Coffeyville Community College (7-1) at 7 p.m. and on Sunday, Dec. 3 against Labette Community College (6-3) at 9 a.m. Seward County is coming off three wins last week over Newman University J.V. (111-75), Cowley College (97-87) and Sterling College J.V. (95-51). The Saints are among a list of nine teams in the NJCAA Region VI who have one loss or are undefeated this season.

Seward County has continued to be led this season by sophomore forward, Theron Wilson, who currently is the leading scorer in the Region VI averaging 25.7 points per game. Wilson ranks in the top five in four individual statistical categories in the Region VI. Wilson, who continues to rank near the top of several NCAA D-I recruiting lists will have a chance to showcase his skills in front of numerous college scouts at arguably the top recruiting venue on the first weekend of December. This season, Wilson is averaging 25.7 points, 12.3 rebounds, 3.4 assists, 3.2 steals and 2.4 blocks per game.

The Saints are also led by the outside shooting of sophomore, Michael Tyree, who currently leads the Region VI in three-point field goals made (34) and is averaging 20.2 points per game.

Saints 11th year head coach, Dave Brown, who has averaged 24 wins per season during his head coaching tenure (244-91), has only coached two teams at Seward County who have finished the season with two 20 point scorers. In Brown’s first season (96-97) sophomore, Rashon Mickens (20.3 ppg.) and freshman, Kevin Houston (20.4 ppg.) accomplished the feat and in 2000-2001, when the Saints were 28-6 overall and Region VI Tournament Runner-Up, sophomores Jamal Brown (21.4 ppg.) and Thaydeus Holden (22.2 ppg.) recorded 20 points per game averages.

Seward County will battle No. 12 Coffeyville C.C. in the opening night of the Shootout. Coffeyville is a program that has won the NJCAA Region VI Tournament four times in the last five seasons. Coffeyville has been under the guidance of 12th year head coach Jay Herkelman, who is 291-86 (.772) during his coaching tenure with the Red Ravens. Coffeyville has been led this season by Barry Eberhardt (18.3 ppg. and 5.5 rpg.), Daniel Payne (12.5 ppg. and 5.5 rpg.) and Aaron Jackson (8.5 ppg. and 3.9 apg.). The Red Ravens have posted notable wins this season against Butler C.C. (twice), Northeastern Oklahoma A&M (twice), Illinois Central College and John Woods C.C. The only loss for the Red Ravens was on Nov. 11 at home against Pratt C.C. (70-57).

Labette finished last season with a 2-16 Jayhawk East record, and was a Pre-Season No. 9 pick in the Jayhawk East. This season, the Cardinals have surprised many critics thus far with non-conference wins against Garden City (68-63- O.T.) on the road and Northeastern Oklahoma A&M (72-66) in Miami, Okla. Labette has several threats on the defensive end of the floor with three players posting at least 20 steals, five players owning four or more rebounds per game and two players who have collected 13 or more blocked shots. Labette is led by sophomore, Sean High, who is averaging 18.6 points and 2.9 steals per game. High is among the top three-point shooters in the Region VI (30-for-82) and is a 73 percent free-throw shooter. Cardinal shot blockers Christopher Reed (11.6 points, 6.3 rpg. and 15 blocks) and Walter Battle (10.9 ppg., 9.2 rpg. and 13 blocks) are also key ingredients for the Cardinals.

You can listen to all of the Saints basketball action this weekend live as KSCB Sports Broadcaster, Brock Kappelmann, gives the play-by-play at the Jayhawk Shootout on Locally the games can be heard on KSCB 1270 AM.