With two Seward County Saints and their coach leading the way, the Jayhawk Conference has released their 2011 All-Conference Teams. Jeremy Jones heads the Jayhawk West 1st Team All-Conference squad after a season in which he led the league in scoring in conference games. The sophomore from Chicago seemed as easy of a choice as you could have made after he finished in the top five of three different statistical categories while helping the Saints to the 2011 Jayhawk West Conference Crown. Jones was not a one man show for Seward this season as he finished 4th in the league in assists at over 4.5 per while taking high percentage shots throughout the season, shooting under 40% in a game just twice in 16 conference games. Marky Nolen was the top choice on the 2nd Team All-Conference list after putting together an unheard of eight straight double-doubles in a 7-1 stretch through the middle part of the conference schedule.

He posted double digit rebounds in 10 of Seward’s 16 conference games while doing the dirty work down low for the Saints at just 6’2. Nolen was the only player in the Jayhawk West this season to average a double-double in conference games and was one of only three players in the region to boast that, along with 6’7 Dennis Tinnon of KCK and 6’8 Titus Rubles of Independence. Bryan Zollinger was named the West’s Coach of the Year for the second time after leading his Saints to their second conference title in his four seasons at the helm for Seward County. The Saints finished a full two games up on the competition this year in the Jayhawk West standings and have wins this season over the current #1 team in the country in Missouri State-West Plains as well as former #1 Hutchinson.