Kansas Jayhawk Community College (KJCCC) officials have announced the 2005-2006 Jayhawk West All-Conference teams. The Seward County Community College basketball program was represented on the First Team as sophomore, Adam Tanner, received Jayhawk West First Team All-Conference accolades. Tanner, a 6’8” center from Melbourne, Australia, was among the Conference’s elite in his sophomore season being place on the five-player First Team.

The Jayhawk West Coach of the Year was awarded to Kevin Muff, Head Coach Cloud County Community College who were Jayhawk West Conference Co-Champions this regular season.

Eighth-placed, Garden City Community College had sophomore, Roy Bright, who was honored as Jayhawk West Most Valuable Player. Bright spent his freshman season playing at the University of Cincinnati before transferring to GCCC for this year.

Tanner led SCCC in five offensive categories this season. He finished his sophomore season at Seward County averaging 15.1 points, 7.3 rebounds and 1.8 assists per game.

Tanner scored in double-figures in 27 of the Saints 31 games this year. After collecting two double-double performances as a freshman, Tanner recorded nine double-doubles in scoring and rebounds during his sophomore campaign at SCCC.

In his two-year career, Tanner made 217 free-throws ranking him tied for ninth-place all-time in Saints basketball history for free-throws made in a career. Tanner’s 217 free-throws tied him with former teammate, Keoni Watson, who is now starring at NCAA D-I University of Idaho.

Tanner has been receiving attention from several NCAA Division I basketball programs, but has not made an announcement on where he will sign for the 2006-2007 year.

Jayhawk West All-Conference Selections:
Coach of the Year: Kevin Muff (Cloud County)
Most Valuable Player: Roy Bright (Garden City)
Freshman of the Year: Nathan Brumfield (Hutchinson)

Jayhawk West All-Conference (First Team):
Roy Bright (Garden City), Corey Bailey (Butler), Geremy Gibson (Cloud County), Nate Bowie (Colby), Adam Tanner (Seward County)

Jayhawk West All-Conference (Second Team):
Marvin Lee (Pratt), Nathan Brumfield (Hutchinson), Ivan Evans (Barton County), Cassin Diggs (Cloud County), Charlie Coley (Dodge City)

Jayhawk West All-Conference (Honorable Mention):
Jake Sims (Dodge City), Melvin Smith (Dodge City), Reed Hein (Cloud County), Jarvis Nichols (Pratt), Demarcus Lyday (Dodge City)