Shaley ThomasJordan Eder
Kansas will salute 49 top community college scholars for their academic accomplishments in an award ceremony Thursday, Feb. 18 in Topeka, including two from Seward County Community College/Area Technical School in Liberal, Kansas.
Representing the 19 Kansas Community Colleges, these scholars have been named to the 2010 All-Kansas Academic Team, sponsored by the international headquarters of Phi Theta Kappa international honor society, the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees and the Kansas Council of Community College Presidents and the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation.
Each is also a nominee for the 2009 All-USA Academic Team, sponsored by USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa and the American Association of Community Colleges.
Jordan Eder of Sharon Springs and Shaley Thomas of Tyrone, Okla., were selected to represent SCCC/ATS. The criteria used in making the decisions included academic rigor, grade point average, involvement in campus and community activities, and demonstration of outstanding moral character.
Eder is a sophomore majoring in Pre-Medicine. She is involved in PATHWAYS (science club), serves as Phi Theta Kappa Secretary, is a cheerleader, is active in the Agricultural program, and is involved in various other activities on campus. Eder is also extremely active with regard to community service projects and is employed in a work-study position in the Science Department.
Thomas is a sophomore majoring in Business. She performs with the SCCC/ATS Dance Team, serves as Students in Free Enterprise president, is a Big Sister/Mentor for Big Brothers and Big Sisters of Liberal, and is a member of the SCCC/ATS Tennis Team. Thomas is also actively involved in community service projects and works at Tan-It.
Phi Theta Kappa is the honor society for students attending community and two-year colleges. Membership is based on high grade point averages and other criteria, with members focusing on scholastic achievement and service to community and campus.
Since 1991, Phi Theta Kappa, USA Today and the American Association of Community Colleges have sponsored the national All-USA Academic Team program. The Kansas program is an affiliate, and the Kansas students are all nominees for the national honor.
Each student will receive a proclamation issued by Gov. Mark Parkinson, an educational stipend, and an academic medallion.
About 500 U.S. community college students will compete for places on the first, second and third national teams. First team members each receive $2,500 stipends, and will be featured in USA Today along with second and third team members. Team members are also presented with medallions
Among Kansans selected for national honors since the annual recognition program began are Donna Shank, SCCC/ATS first team, 1995 and Brandon Sutton, SCCC/ATS second team, 1996.