A bit of good news came to the Seward County Volleyball Team Sunday evening as the Jayhawk West All-Conference Teams were announced. Four Lady Saints were named to the list including Freshman of the Year Sheina Fernandes, as well as Head Coach Bert Luallen receiving Coach of the Year honors.
Diana Castrillon and Sheina Fernandes were named to the 1st Team All-KJCCC list and LaKendra Sanders and Lindsey Miller were named 2nd Team All-Conference. Castrillon, a sophomore from Segovia, Colombia led the Lady Saints with 310 kills and 63 aces on the season while finishing 3rd on the team in digs with 359 and blocks with 51. Fernandes earned Jayhawk West Freshman of the Year honors after leading the Lady Saints with a .326 hitting percentage on the season and leading the gals in green with 140 blocks on the year. Sanders finds her way onto the 2nd Team All-Conference list for the second straight season after finishing third on the team behind Castrillon and Fernandes with 265 kills and finishing 2nd on the squad with a .309 hitting percentage and 108 blocks on the campaign. Miller is also a repeat member of the group after a solid all-around season for the Lady Saints. She was second on the team with 416 digs and finished in the top four in kills (248), aces (33), and passing % (.924). Luallen receives the Coach of the Year award for the first time in his Seward County career after leading the Lady Saints to an 11-1 conference record this season and climbing them to as high as #9 at one point in the NJCAA polls.

Coach of the Year: Bert Luallen (Seward County)
Player of the Year: Debbie Ohl (Hutchinson)
Freshman of the Year: Sheina Fernandes (Seward County)
1st Team
Debbie Ohl (Hutchinson), Diana Castrillon (Seward County), Mengya Wang (Barton County), Katerin Trejos (Pratt), Sheina Fernandes (Seward County), Karol Marins (Hutchinson)
2nd Team
Kate Morrell (Hutchinson), LaKendra Sanders (Seward County), Kalie Mader (Pratt), Xuemei Zhang (Barton County), Tatiana Gonzalez (Pratt), Bailea Phelan (Hutchinson), Laura Macek (Barton County), Lindsey Miller (Seward County)