Seward County Community College sophomores Tomas Cruz and David Masters have been named National Junior College Athletic Association Division I Baseball All-Americans. The NJCAA announced its All-American teams this week with five players from the Region VI receiving recognition. Cruz, a right-handed pitcher from Amarillo, was named Second Team All-American while Masters, a catcher from Odessa, Texas, was named honorable mention. A total of 36 players earned first, second or third team recognition while 18 players were selected honorable mention.

The Saintsí baseball program has now had 18 All-Americans, including 17 selections under head coach Galen McSpadden. The NJCAA Hall of Fame coaching legend has coached the most All-Americans in Region VI history.

The five Region VI representatives on the All-American teams are: Doug Otto, Johnson County (First Team); Tomas Cruz, Seward County (Second Team); Stewart Hoover, Hutchinson (Third Team); David Masters, Seward County (Honorable Mention); Brandon Droge, Johnson County (Honorable Mention).

Cruz, the Jayhawk West Most Valuable Player, dominated on the mound his sophomore season recording an 11-3 record, 2.22 earned run average and 85 strikeouts in 81 innings pitched. A First Team All-Conference and All-Region VI selection, Cruz tallied seven complete games, two shutouts and allowed only 11 walks in 14 appearances.

Masters led the Saints with 73 base hits, nine home runs and 48 RBIs. After transferring to SCCC from the University of Texas Arlington, Masters was named First Team All-Conference and First Team All-Region VI. He batted .378 with 45 runs, 15 doubles, and he threw out 19 percent of would-be base stealers.
Cruz and Masters join the list of Seward County All-Americans that includes Erik Hegstad, Second Team (2007), Tanner Rindels, Honorable Mention (2007), Ryan Nelson, First Team (2003); Josh McSpadden, Third Team (2003); Danny Vais, Honorable Mention (2003); Cory Patton, First Team/NJCAA Player of the Year (2002); Dan Dody, Honorable Mention (2002); Jesus Morillo, Second Team (2000); Mike Done, Third Team (1998); Chaz Eiguren, First Team (1997); Jesse Cornejo, Honorable Mention (1997); Sean Eylar, First Team (1996); Scott Sandusky, Honorable Mention (1995); Tyler Bain, Second Team (1993); Tim Forkner, First Team (1993); Matt Yeager, Second Team (1975).