Southwest Kansas Technical School is a major step closer to becoming a part of Seward County Community College, following a joint meeting between the SCCC Board of Trustees and the USD 480 Board of Education.
The SCCC and the USD 480 boards have been working on an “Agreement for Consolidation” between the college and the Southwest Kansas Technical School since early fall. Although each board had approved the majority of the agreement, parts of the agreement regarding “property usage” were keeping the final approval of the document from being signed.
The language on property usage would have required that the SCCC board return the technical school property to USD 480 if “at any time any part of the real property transferred herein ceases to be used solely for educational purposes.” Following an evening of discussion, the two boards finally agreed that no property would revert to USD 480. However, the boards did agree that should any part of the technical school land be sold within the next 10 years, money from the sale of that land would be used strictly for technical education.
The 2007 Kansas Legislature recently passed Senate Substitute for HB 2556 that requires “the governing bodies of all postsecondary technical schools to submit a plan to merge or affiliate with a postsecondary educational institution or become an accredited technical college with an independent governing board by July 1, 2008.” The two boards have agreed that the best solution would be for the technical school to merge with SCCC. With this most recent consensus between the two local boards, the college and the technical school should not have any problem adhering to the July 1, 2008 deadline.
Never in question during the discussion was the commitment by both boards to the students at Southwest Kansas Technical School and the Liberal community. Both entities are dedicated to the future of the technical school and its programs.
Seward County Community College
PO Box 1137 Liberal, KS 67905-1137 620-629-2687
DATE: May 22, 2007

For more information, contact Andy Yoxall,
The Seward County Community College Respiratory Therapy program will begin offering its associate in applied science degree in conjunction with other community colleges in western Kansas beginning this fall. The Allied health education consortium consisting of Seward County, Garden City, Dodge City and Colby community colleges have developed an agreement to allow students interested in a career in Respiratory Therapy to pursue general education requirements at any of the four community colleges.
The lecture component of the program will be offered online and over the KanEd ITV network. Students would be required to attend periodic laboratory sessions on the SCCC campus and complete their assigned clinical experiences in cooperative healthcare institutions in the area. This technology will reduce the cost of travel considerably as well as allow non-traditional students to spend more time at home with family members.
Respiratory therapists are in demand in area healthcare facilities as well as nationwide. SCCC graduates currently staff a large majority of all respiratory therapy positions in western Kansas and the Oklahoma panhandle. The SCCC program is accredited as an “advanced practitioner” program making graduates eligible to take the national registered respiratory therapist (RRT) credentialing examination. All applicants for the RRT exam must have obtained an associate in applied science degree in respiratory therapy and also successfully complete the certified respiratory therapist (CRT) exam.
The SCCC respiratory therapy program is currently accepting applications for the fall 2007 semester. Additional information is provided on the SCCC website at or by contacting Ed Anderson, Respiratory Therapy Program Coordinator at 620-626-3025 or
Employees at Seward County Community College were recently recognized for years of service to the institution.
Lee Courtney received a watch and certificate for 30 years of service to the institution.
Jo Ann Sharp, board chair, and Byron Bird, formerly with the SCCC Development Foundation, received their 20-year plaques. SCCC employees Suzanne Campbell and Mindy Holder and SCCC Board member Ron Oliver received their 15-year plaques.
Nancy Bansemer, Frances Brown, Thad DeWeese, Dennis Guild and Anita Reed received their 10-year certificates.
Receiving their five-year certificate were SCCC employees Lori Clay, Pam Freeman, Andrea Gustafson, Ken Killion, Denice Paden and Sheila Scheib, and SCCC Development Foundation Board member, Al Shank Jr. Greg Scruggs, who recently became a full-time employee, was recognized for six years of service.
Laura Barrogan of Liberal, Brie Heaton of Hugoton, Ericka Moser of Meade, Mark Hopewell of Turpin, Okla., and Jessica Salley of Tyrone, Okla., have been admitted to the Seward County Community College Surgical Technology program in Liberal, Kansas, for the 2007-08 school year.
This 11-month career program trains surgical technologists to become an integral part of the surgical team. SCCC’s Surgical Technology program is now offering the lecture portion of its curriculum online. Students who are unable to come to campus five days a week but would like to train as a Surgical Technologist can now take the lecture portions of the core courses online beginning with the fall 2007 semester. During the fall semester, students come to campus for labs from 6:45 a.m.-12:15 p.m., Monday, Wednesday and every other Friday or Tuesday, Thursday and every other Friday. During the spring and summer 2008 semesters, clinicals will be held at Dodge City, Garden City and Liberal hospitals.
For more information about this program, call 620-626-3078 or 1-800-373-9951, ext. 078.
Summer hours at Seward County Community College will begin Monday, May 21. Offices will open from 7 a.m.-6 p.m., Monday through Thursday. The campus is closed Friday.
The Cosmetology program will open from 8 a.m.-6 p.m., Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday and 11 a.m.-9 p.m. Thursday for training and services to the public. The cosmetology building will be closed Fridays.
Seward County Community College has chosen its People’s Choice Awards from the art work created this spring semester at the college. The two-dimensional winner is Jane Moore of Liberal. The three-dimensional winner is Susan Lane-Bunce of Rolla.Winners are chosen by students and employees.
Mandy Meadows of Liberal was one of 22 associate degree nursing students who received their nursing pins recently at Seward County Community College in Liberal. Nursing instructor Veda King places a pin on Meadows. Twenty-seven practical nursing students received their caps during the same ceremony.
The public is invited to two receptions honoring two employees who are retiring from Seward County Community College this spring.
Student Services will host a reception for Gayle O’Kane, admissions secretary, at 2-4 p.m., May 14 in SW229 C-D in the Student Activities Center. O’Kane has 31 years of service with SCCC.
The Business Division will host a reception for Marilyn Ewing, accounting instructor, 10 a.m., May 23, in AA130 of the Hobble Academic Building. Ewing has been with the college since 1991.