The Seward County Community College Board of Trustees met Monday, June 25, to close the 2006-07 school year by approving encumbrances and discussing the 2007-08 school year that begins July 1.
Shannon Frances, chair of the Seward County Commission, addressed the board about participation in a Seward County Council of Governments. This council would create an avenue of discussion and conversation on topics which impact all of Seward County governmental entities including city governments, school districts, county government and SCCC.
A number of board members will represent SCCC at the first meeting at 7 a.m., Thursday at the Seward County Event Center. Dr. Steve Cauble will represent the board on the council.
The board accepted an audit of EduKan, the online consortium of which SCCC is a member. The audit showed no instances of noncompliance or matter of material weaknesses of internal control. Dr. Duane Dunn, SCCC president, told the board that EduKan enrollment continues to grow by 15 percent each year. EduKan provides general education classes and degrees online.
The board agreed to “not to succeed” to a Conservation Reserve Program contract on 14.1 acres of land recently purchased by the college from Pandel L.L.C, south of the college. In 2006 half of the acreage, located just to the south of the campus, was donated to the college and the college purchased the remainder acreage. However, there was no awareness that a CRP contract was connected to the land. The CRP contract prohibits mowing of the property or use of the property for any purpose other than conservation. The decision not to succeed allows SCCC to maintain the property according to Liberal city zoning and maintenance requirements including mowing of the property.
July 6 the college will officially change to its new phone system that will include voice mail and caller ID. The first three numbers of the seven-digit number will begin with 417. The existing 629 and 626 numbers will remain active for the next year to allow students, families, and the pubic to contact the college until awareness of the new phone numbers is more complete.
The board reviewed the most recent draft of the consolidation agreement with USD 480 regarding consolidation of the Southwest Kansas Technical School. No finalized agreement has been presented for approval. The SCCC board directed the board attorney to conduct a title search on the technical school property.
In other action, the board
1. hired Brad Kearn as a mathematics instructor, Ryan Stock as assistant men’s basketball coach and Wade Lyon, director of student activities;
2. accepted the resignation of Ty Hughbanks, biology instructor, and Abby Bolton, admissions coordinator;
3. approved a bid from Southwest Glass and Door of Liberal in the amount of $73,580 to replace windows on the center west side of the Student Activities building;
4. approved a contract with Cytek Media Systems in the about of $11,711.50 to update technology in three classrooms on campus; and
5. approved prepayment of two debt services without penalty in July 2007 to save the college $4,655.50 in interest charges.
At a recent meeting of the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees, Marvin Chance Jr., SCCC board member, was selected as vice president of the association. SCCC president Dr. Duane Dunn was selected as chair of the KACCT Council of Presidents.
Dean of Students Randy Smith, announced that enrollment is higher than the summer 2006 semester, with one final session to begin July 9, and that pre-enrollment for Fall semester is showing improvement. Dean of Instruction Cynthia Rapp discussed the topics and events for the fall in-service activities. President Dunn provided the Board with information regarding the upcoming Board of Regents meeting including the Regents recommendation to award SCCC with full funding for accomplishments toward the college’s institutional performance agreement. He also informed the Board on preliminary progress toward establishing a training partnership with Pratt Community College and the Kansas Association of Ethanol Producers.
The next board meeting will be Monday, July 23.