The Seward County Community College choir invites the public to a dinner and entertainment at 6-9 p.m., Saturday, Oct. 15 at the Liberal Elks Lodge.

The cost is $25 per person and will help raise funds for the SCCC choirıs trip to Carnegie Hall in New York City April 6-10, where they will perform.

For tickets call 629-2693 or 624-6741.

The SCCC concert choir, show choir and individual members will be the entertainment for the evening.
Student Activities at Seward County Community College will host Motivational Speaker Bob Anastas at 7 p.m., Wednesday, Oct. 12 in SW229C/D of the SCCC Student Activities Center in Liberal.

His presentation, 3Check in to a Winning Life,2 reflects responsible attitudes, smart choices and challenges that young people face.

Over the past two decades, Bob Anastas, founder and former executive director of Students Against Driving Drunk (SADD, has risen to national prominence as a speaker, educator and author. Today, through this program, he brings to both parents and students a timely, motivational message on how young people can develop responsible attitudes and make smart choices about the many challenges they face.

A former college All-American football and hockey player, Massachusetts high school teacher of the year, and coach, Anastas faced a tragedy in the summer of 1981 that profoundly changed the course of his life. Within four days, two star athletes on his high school hockey team were killed in separate drunk driving crashes. Their deaths prompted Anastas to start a new health program for sophomores at the Massachusetts school where he taught.

After only one week into the course, Anastas recognized that his typical approach reciting powerful statistics on the consequences of underage drinking and drunk driving was not getting through. The students already knew the facts, but were still making illegal and risky choices and, in some cases, they were dying.

Out of frustration, Anastas turned to the students themselves for help. "We began to see the problem as a box in which students are trapped," Anastas said. "One wall of the box is made up of the kids' desire to preserve their parents' perfect image of them. The second wall is created by peer pressure the pressure to go along with what the students perceive as socially acceptable, high-risk behavior. The third wall is comprised of simple innocence and naiveti; despite the statistics, kids don't fully comprehend their own mortality. And the final wall is built by a lack of communication between children and parents. SADD was born from this concept.

The "Check In To A Winning Life" program covers these issues-motivating students, teachers and parents to broaden their understanding of risk-taking behavior and to forcefully address it.
Lions ClubLiberal Noon Lions Club recently contributed $250 to the Seward County Community College Development Foundation for the Doug Radohl Memorial Scholarship. Doug was a long-time member of Lions Club and SCCC Dean of Community Services. Doug's service to the community continues through his endowed scholarship that is awarded to SCCC students. Lions Club members Mike Riney and Randy Rariden presented the check to Tammy Doll, SCCC director of development.
Teaching Award Recipients
Three employees of Seward County Community College recently received the excellence in teaching award from the National Institute for Staff and Organization Development in Austin, Texas. SCCC recipients were Ed Anderson, Respiratory Therapy coordinator; Mindy Holder, computer information systems coordinator; and Katy Redd, behavioral science instructor. Presidents of member colleges submit names of individuals their colleges wish to recognize as NISOD excellence award recipients. Member colleges are committed to enriching the learning experiences for all students, enhancing the standards of excellence throughout the academic community and celebrating outstanding educators and their accomplishments.
Students who recently completed Cosmetology II at Seward County Community College have been named to the President's and Dean's honor rolls.

Students who complete at least 15 credit hours in courses numbered 100 and above and maintain a grade point average of 4.0 are eligible for the President's Honor Roll. Joycelyn Carol, Brittany Marnae Shuck, Prisma Sanchez, Pam Payton, Phuong Hoa Thi Nguyen, Nika Nacole Kraisinger, all of Liberal; Chrissy Unwin, Goodwell, Okla.; Natasha Renee Livesay, Hooker, Okla.; Jacy Tatum Cobb, Goodwell, Okla.; and Paige Kristin Schultz of Ulysses.

The Dean's Honor Roll recognizes those students who maintained a 3.5 or greater grade point average and completed at least 12 credit hours in courses numbered 100 or above. Joyce Ann Williams of Hugoton and Dayanara Elvira Ruano and Trisha Marie Delay, both of Liberal have been named to the Dean's Honor Roll.