The summer session at Seward County Community College begins Tuesday, May 31 .

Students can enroll from 7 a .m .-4 p .m ., Monday through Thursday and 7 a .m .-11:30 a .m ., Fridays . The first summer session is May 31-July7; the second session, May 31-June 30 and the third session is July11-Aug . 4 .

If you have a current application for admission, enroll online at or come by SCCC at 1801 N . Kansas in Liberal .
Elise Fisher . Letitia Magallanes, Marisa Paz, Marvin Ulery and Megan Starr, all of Liberal, and Ranee Plunk of Turpin, Okla ., were admitted to the Seward County Community College Surgical Technology program in Liberal, Kansas, for the fall 2005 school year .

This 11-month career program trains surgical technologists to become an integral part of the surgical team . While participating in this program, students will have an opportunity to work in a hospital setting .

Graduates of this program enjoy local and nationwide career opportunities .

For more information about this Surgical Technology program, call Seward County Community College at 1-800-373-9951, ext . 078 .
Seward County Community College, Liberal, Kansas, has named its residence assistants for the 2005-06 school year.

This individuals who will help oversee the Student Living Center will be Brad Lewis, Kismet; Simon Arellano and Alison Owens, Hugoton; Monaka Volden, Elkhart; Gicel Hernandez, Syracuse; Adam Tanner, Victoria, Australia; and Brian Majors, Owassa, Okla.
During the 2005 Kansas Society for Clinical Laboratory Scientists, Risa Bayliff was recognized as the outstanding student from the Seward County Community College, Medical Laboratory Technician program. Risa is currently a second-year student preparing to complete the final phase of the program, the advanced clinical rotation.

Bayliff, who is from Lakin, was selected as the outstanding student from the SCCC Medical Laboratory Technician program due to her superior performance in the laboratory and her ability to efficiently balance her academic, work and family responsibilities.

“Risa is an excellent student and will be an tremendous asset to the laboratory profession upon completion of the program requirements,” said Suzanne Campbell, MLT program coordinator

For more information about the online MLT program, call 626-3077 in Liberal, Kansas, or 1-800-373-9951, ext. 077.
Eight students have been admitted to the second year of the Seward County Community College Medical Laboratory Technician program in Liberal, Kansas, for the fall 2005 school year.

Elizabeth Andazola of Syracuse, Susan Conley of Ashland, Ruth Edwards of Ulysses, Victorine Fotabong of Liberal, Sherry Luckie of Buffalo, Okla. Lindy Ray of Waterville, Ohio, Roman Ruppert of Fremont, Ohio, and Janelle Wynn of Visalia, Calif., successfully completed the first year of the program. Admission is contingent upon students completing the first year general education courses with a cumulative grade point average of 2.5 or higher, with three letters of reference and an interview with a faculty member.

The online format for the medical laboratory technician program allows place-bound students to remain in their geographic location while pursuing their academic goals, said Suzanne Campbell, MLT program coordinator. Students have access to the lecture materials at their convenience with the laboratory component being completed at a local clinical facility. The increased demand for laboratory professionals has brought attention to the field as a career choice and SCCC’s program is experiencing increased enrollment.

“I am very pleased with the academic quality that this group of students represents,” Campbell said. “They will be an outstanding group with which to work and I anticipate having each as a highly competent, entry-level graduate.”

For more information about this Medical Laboratory program, call Seward County Community College at 1-800-373-9951, ext. 077.
Seward County Community College will begin its summer hours beginning Monday, May 23 .

The campus will open at 7 a .m . and close at 4:30 p .m ., Monday through Thursday, and 7 a .m .-12 noon, Fridays .
The Seward County Community College Board of Trustees met Monday evening May 2 at 6:00 p.m. with student representatives. This bi-annual dinner provides an opportunity for students to discuss their College experience with the Trustees.

The regular meeting of the Board began at 7:30, with the swearing in of newly re-elected Trustees Sharon Hobble, Ron Oliver, and Leo Riley. Donetta Dreitz, SCCC Registrar, provided information regarding upcoming commencement ceremonies. The 2005 commencement will be held Saturday, May 7 at 10:00 a.m. in the SCCC gym. Mr. Scott Dewald, 1996 SCCC alum and current Executive Vice President of the Oklahoma Cattlemen’s Association, will be the commencement speaker.

» Read More